In order to take bookings with Sign In Scheduling, you'll need to create some services. Your services are the events your customers can book with you - they're the types of appointments you offer.
In Sign In Scheduling, services are based on your availability. Regular services are based on your scheduled working hours, and class services are based on classes you've pre-booked into your calendar.
This guide explains how to create services in Sign In Scheduling. To get started, head to 'Setup' > 'Services'.
How to create regular services
Under 'Setup' > 'Services' you'll find a list of all your services. To create a new regular service, click the '+ Add' button and then select 'Add regular service'.
You can then enter the name of the service and click 'Add' again to save it to your list.
Your new service will then appear in the list. Click on the service to open the service settings menu, where you can make changes.
In the service settings menu, you'll find a number of different options.
Each section of the service settings menu is explained below.
Direct link to service
The unique link to the service. When someone clicks this link, they'll be sent straight to that particular service on your booking page.
The type of availability the service is based on (either regular, which is based on your working hours, or class, which is based on class sessions you've already booked into your calendar).
The description for this service, publicly visible on your booking page. Customers can view this description by clicking the 'See details' button for this service on your booking page.
How long bookings for this service are set to last in minutes.
Periods of time that can be added before and/or after bookings for this service take place, to give you time to prepare and/or wrap up. For more information on buffer time, click here.
The location(s) at which this service can be booked. To select a location type for the service, click on the corresponding checkbox to enable it.
Note: services can be set to take place at both 'Online/Phone' and 'Business premises', but if you select 'At customer's address', you won't be able to select any other location options.
The color assigned to this service. You'll see the service color within your inbox and within your calendar when viewing by service type.
Determines who can book this service, and how much notice they have to give for their bookings. If you'd like any customer to be able to see and book this service, select 'Can be booked by any client'.
If you select 'Visible to clients but not bookable', customers will see the service on your booking page but will not be able to make their own online bookings for this service.
If you select 'Hidden on booking page', the service will not appear on your booking page.
Selecting 'Privately bookable with a URL' will mean that the service won't automatically appear on your booking page, but can be booked via that service's direct link. For more information on privately bookable services, click here.
Staff selection by customer
Whether the bookable staff members for this service are allocated to bookings automatically or selected by the customer.
Selecting 'Allocate staff automatically' will mean that Sign In Scheduling automatically selects a staff member to take the booking.
If you select 'Allow customer to choose', customers will be able to select the staff member of their choice. If 'Force customer to choose' is selected, customers will not be able to proceed with their booking until they have chosen a specific staff member.
The bookable staff members able to take bookings for this service.
Whether customers are allowed to cancel their bookings for this service, and how much notice they have to give if they are wanting to cancel.
Whether customers are allowed to make changes to their bookings for this service, and how much notice they have to give if they are wanting to make changes.
Whether payment is required when bookings are made for this service.
If you've opted to show the price for this service and/or have chosen to require payment, you can enter the booking price here.
The changes you make in the service settings menu will save automatically.
To make sure your customers can see bookable slots for your regular services on your booking page, you'll need to configure your working hours under 'Setup' > 'Availability'. For more information on how to do this, click here.
How to create class services
To create a new class service, head to 'Setup' > 'Availability', click '+ Add' and select 'Add class'.
As described in the section above, once you've entered the name of your class service and clicked the blue 'Add' button, your new class service will appear in your services list. You can click on the service to open the service settings menu and select your preferences in accordance with the instructions set out in the previous section.
With class services, you'll need to manually book the appointment(s) into your Sign In Scheduling calendar before bookable slots will appear for your customers. For more instructions on how to do this, click here.
Once again, all of the changes you make in the service settings menu will be saved automatically.
How to clone a service
To clone a service means to make an exact copy of it. You can clone services as many times as you like; Sign In Scheduling does not put a limit on the number of service you are allowed to create and offer.
To clone a service, head to 'Setup' > 'Services' and locate the service you'd like to clone. Simply click the 'Clone' button to create a copy. Each copy you make will be labeled to avoid confusion.
You can find another 'Clone' button at the bottom of the service settings menu when configuring your services.
The cloned services will have exactly the same settings as the original service, until and unless you decide to change them.
How to delete a service
To delete a service, head to 'Setup' > 'Services' and click on the service you'd like to delete. Scroll to the bottom of the service settings menu and click the 'Delete' button. The service will then be deleted and removed from Sign In Scheduling.
If you accidentally delete a service that you didn't mean to, our support team may be able to recover it for you.
Need more help?
We hope this guide has been helpful! If you have any questions or need further assistance, don't hesitate to reach out to our support team who will be happy to assist further.