With Sign In Scheduling's smart messaging feature, AI (artificial intelligence) can automatically respond to email, web and SMS messages from your customers, powered by ChatGPT.
With smart messaging, Sign In Scheduling can provide your customers with information about their bookings, send them a rebooking link if they ask to reschedule, and can cancel their bookings for them if they're no longer able to attend.
To use this feature, you'll need a subscription to our Premium plan. This guide explains how to use smart messaging with Sign In Scheduling.
To get started, head to the 'Inbox' tab and click on the smart messaging status.
Providing appointment information
Once you've clicked to open the smart messaging page, you'll find the three main smart messaging functions. These can be enabled/disabled by clicking their tickboxes.
Note: if you'd prefer the system not to use smart messaging when you're active in your account (and able to respond yourself), click to enable the switch at the top of the page.
If you click to enable the 'Provide information on appointments' option, Sign In Scheduling will respond with the customer's appointment details if they send a message that implies they need more information or reassurance that their appointment is still taking place.
Pictured below is an example message sent by a customer (in blue) in response to their booking confirmation email.
Note: The customer in the following examples sent their messages via the page they're taken to after clicking the 'Reply, change or cancel' button in the email. In the message history, this will show as a message from 'Web'.
Sign In Scheduling's AI then sends a response to the customer via email, pictured below. This response confirms that the appointment is still going ahead, and repeats all of the appointment information.
Note: The message from the AI will also appear within the chat history (in green) on the 'Reply, change or cancel' page following a refresh, but the customer will need to open the email to view all of its contents.
Sending rebooking links
If you click to enable the 'Send rebooking links' option, Sign In Scheduling will send your customers a rebooking link if they send a message saying they want to reschedule their appointment.
Pictured below is an example of a customer asking to reschedule, and Sign In Scheduling automatically responding to them with a rebooking link.
If you click to enable the 'Auto-cancel appointments' option, Sign In Scheduling will automatically cancel bookings for your customers if they send a message asking to cancel.
Pictured below is an example message sent by a customer wanting to cancel their appointment, and the message Sign In Scheduling sent them in response.
Viewing message history
You can view the message history between Sign In Scheduling and your customers at any time. You can do so from your inbox and your calendar.
To view message history from your inbox, head to your inbox from the left-hand menu and then click on the 'Messages' tab. Here you'll find the messages your customers have sent.
Clicking on a message will open a sidebar to the right, where you'll find the details of the corresponding appointment and the activity window. Within the activity window, you'll see the entire conversation history for the corresponding appointment, including the messages sent by Sign In Scheduling's AI.
To view conversation history from the calendar, locate the corresponding booking in your calendar and click on it. This will open the same sidebar as noted above, containing the entire conversation history within the activity window.
Need more help?
We hope this guide has been helpful! If you have any questions, don't hesitate to reach out to our support team who will be more than happy to assist.